Tags

, , , , , , ,

This past weekend we (my wife and I) got some time to ourselves. Taking full advantage of it of course we, you guessed it, went out to eat and did some shopping. It was a very enjoyable time. After a good lettuce wrapped double burger and egg we hit the town for the limited time we had left. I got my wife a necklace, an early mother’s day gift you understand, and then we headed to the shop of my choosing. A comic book store.

IMG_3850I went not for the comics (not really my thing) but for the games. After perusing the game   selection we found a whole shelf with different versions of Fluxx. If your are just that knowledgeable or if you just googled it, Fluxx is a game of ever changing rules which comes in many different flavors. Star Fluxx looked promising and after reading the back of the box I was sold on it. I’ll be sure to post something once I get a chance to play it.

IMG_3847And of course they had dice -what comic book store would be complete with out them. Three bins full, they had them. As I sifted through them I found two d6’s that caught my eye. One with a skunk and one with a skull in place of the 1. I glanced for a second one of either of them and didn’t see one. And with the limited time we had I settled. I like them. 🙂

IMG_3843Right next to the dice was the May issue of Game Trade Magazine. It included a Limited Edition Promo Expansion for Catan – the Catan World Championship 2014 expansion. So we picked it up, again not for the magazine, but for the Catan expansion. It sounds like a fun tweak on the rules: replace the desert with one of the included tiles; replace the tile under the #2 chit with the other tile; and get the chance to not only steal a recourse when a 7 is rolled but also gain an additional one. Again I will be sure to write something about it once I play my next game of Catan. Oh yeah, for those of you who don’t know what Catan is – For Shame!!! Google it.

IMG_3844IMG_3845IMG_3846

To end my post a throw of the new dice.

IMG_3848

That’s… unfortunate – I don’t think any amount of modifiers will help that.

Until next time (unless I have a terrible gaming accident),

Running Man

