Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Game night Tuesday.

Source: Board Game Geek

We managed to get in 1 game for Loot and 3 games of Dominion. It was good to get in a bunch of shorter games. Don’t get me wrong, I like a good long game, Twilight Imperium, Catan with all the expansions, Carcassonne the same way. But there is something nice about quicker games that allow more than one winner for the night.

I won the first game we played. WHAT!!!?? you ask. Yes. Yes I did manage to loot the most merchant ships. It’s a fun quick game, easy to learn. Defiantly a good filler game. Then we broke out Dominion, no expansions this time. And the three games filled out the night quite nicely.

The first two games were very skewed as far as card values go. In the first game we had no cards costing more that 4 coin, which made for big decks. I don’t remember the final score but it was up there, I don’t think anyone scored under 30vp during that game.

Source: Board Game Geek

The second game was just the opposite. All the big value cards were out, nothing cheaper than 4 coin. So it was pretty much guaranteed that no one could buy anything during one of their first two turns. (We play with a house rule that doesn’t allow you to buy a treasure or vp card unless you have played an action that turn. Otherwise no actions would be bought.) The Mine was out during that game and my normal strategy is to get a couple of those to upgrade my copper to silver to gold. But the Thief was also mucking about and with no Moat available I forewent that and tried other avenues. I bought 2 or 3 Witches and was handing out Curses every other turn or so. That game ended with very few vp having been bought, the winner of that game totaled 13vp.

The third game had a nice balance of cards. I was able to pick up a few Bureaucratic cards and some Gardens which went a long way towards victory. I won that game too. Well, mostly… I tied for first with 31vp. That’s still winning right? I mean I did come in first, with someone else.

Well that was my game night this week. I also played a couple games with my kids. Two games I designed, a simple resource gathering game and an equally simple dice game.

Until next time, keep on playing the game,

Running Man

